Connectivism

As I think about how I learn as an adult, I am reminded of how adults learn differently from children.  I have found that when adults take classes they rely on different aspect than children.  For example, as an adult my learning first of all has a purpose.  I am taking classes to improve my position and job status.  My purpose is much different from those of children.  I need to be able to apply what I am learning to what I have learned during my life experiences or will experience.  This brings me to the usage of many resources.  Being a learner of this day and age, I have become dependent upon many different types of resources that were not available in my early years of education.  Looking at my mind map, you will see that I use technology as a resource, my computer, personal experiences and the social group of my classmates.  Using technology has provided a plethora if information for me.  There is no end to the blogs, emails, chats, groups, articles, online journals and sometimes just simply typing a topic into google or yahoo. Although, I am new to blogging, I have found it interesting as well as educational to read blogs and see what others are thinking or advancements and/or ideas of others. When I have questions, I find it easy to use different types of resources.  I use professional and personal experiences because that is what we use as adults.  We have a wealth of experiences that we can relate to learning.  I also find that I am not intimidated by asking questions or for help in my classes.  As an adult, I am more confident than ever because I realize that learning has to occur for the purpose of my moving forward therefore, taking initiative is in imperative to my success.  I have found myself becoming more and more technology savvy.  It is the only way to keep up with this ever changing world.  I am able to navigate on most websites and also in my online classes.  My learning and usage of different resources increases more and more as I learn more and more.  Learning to me is more than reading a chapter and answering questions.  That is the way learning was done for me in earlier years but now learning is done in so many different ways and I am glad of it.  I am very glad that I am able to use connectivism to enhance my learning experiences.  Who knows, perhaps as time goes on and my education does too, my mind web will become bigger and bigger.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

