Reflection of my learning

Now that I have a deeper understanding of different learning theories, how has my view on how I learn changed?

I now realize many different things on how I learn. Since my class has been vigorously learning different types of theories, I understand who I am as a learner and who I am as a teacher. I now know how I was taught and the theory that was the driving force behind the way I was taught.  Comparing my age with the time the theory was an active one, I can probably guess that behaviorism was more than likely the way I was taught.  That does not mean however, that is the best way for me to learn.  I believe the best way for me to learn is with the theory of constructivism and connectivism because I am more of an experience learner and a resource learner.  I need to relate my personal experience with my learning as well as be able to research through different resources what is being taught. 

What have you learned about the various learning theories and learning styles over the past weeks that can further explain your own personal learning preferences?

I have learned that each learning theory is not perfect but all have wonderful attributes.  It is my belief that something from each learning theory can be used to the benefit of teaching and learning.  Behaviorism is thought to be the best theory for elementary children because of its explicit teaching.  Cognitivism works with how the brain processes material.  My personal favorite which may not be suitable for young learners is constructivism, which is relating outside experiences (personal)  and outside resources (like connectivism) to productive learning.  This theory is thought to be used best with older learners.  My reasoning is that because you have had more time to experience more when you are older so you have a lot more to bring to the table in experiences.  I also learned that I, like others, can not assume that one learning theory suits me best for all subjects.  I have found that while constructivism is best for me in one subject, it may not be the best theory for all subjects.  I have spent a lot of time trying to narrow down what type of learner I am 100 percent, only to find out I am not one particular type of learner 100 percent of the time.  I was very happy when I came to the realization that I can not apply constructivism to all of my learning practices all of the time in every subject.  I know I must use cognitivism for Math because it is so important for me to go through the process by the same token, that is not necessarily true for English and Writing. I am relieved to know that I am a fraction of each theory and I believe the same goes for almost everyone.

What role does technology play in your learning?

Technology plays a very big part in my learning because so much can be accessed through the world wide web, audio, visual, email, blogs etc..I am able to access information many different ways through technology.  The internet, search engines, online articles and journals as well as access to the school library online is how I access my information.  No longer do I do much research the old fashioned way of text book and encyclopedia when I can find the same information utilizing other technology. I can create many different types of learning environments through multimedia aspects.  I can save information needed for future use such as charts and data as well as create charts and data to be used in my class for my own personal use as well as to demonstrate, teach and share.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

